Buy Online Sam Lee - Old Wow - Vinyl *product may differ to image displayed

Sam Lee

Old Wow - Vinyl


Release Date: 31/01/2020

Discs: 1

  Buy LP only

Add Old Wow (CD) for only $6

Since bursting on to the folk scene, Londoner and Hackney resident Sam Lee has blazed a dizzying trail as a singer and song collector. With a rich and resonant voice, Sam is also the founder and driving force behind the eclectic, award-winning folk club The Nest Collective, which has brought traditional music to all kinds of new stages and venues as well as engaging new and often younger audiences.

Sam’s debut album, ‘Ground of its Own’ was conceived after winning the prestigious Arts Foundation Prize in 2011 and nominated for the 2012 Mercury Music Prize. His second album, ‘The Fade in Time’ (2015) has been equally feted. At the BBC Radio 2 Folk Awards 2016, Sam was presented with ‘Best Traditional Song’ for his version of the song ‘Lovely Molly’. During the ceremony, he performed the song live, backed by the 40-piece Roundhouse Choir, in front of a sold-out show at the Royal Albert Hall, London. The same week, Sam and his band of Friends were invited to perform the same song on BBC TV’s ‘Later with Jools’.

More recently Sam is featured in Guy Ritchie’s latest film “King Arthur: Legend of the Sword” in which his song, composed with Daniel Pemberton, entitled “The Devil and the Huntsman” plays an important role.

Side A

1.The Garden of England (Seeds Of Love)
2. Lay This Body Down
3. The Moon Shines Bright
4. Soul Cake
5. Spencer The Rover

Side B

6. Jasper Sea
7. Sweet Sixteen
8. Turtle Dove
9. Worthy Wood
10. Balfanen